In the Cytobank platform, Experiments can be grouped into Projects for organizational purposes, as well as for sharing access to Experiments among a group of people. Click the links to jump to the relevant section below.
- Creating and managing Projects
- Project roles: Members, Leaders, and Managers
- Adding and removing people from a Project
- Understanding Project access levels
- Adding or removing Experiments from a Project
Creating and managing Projects
Create a project by opening the Project menu visible at all times throughout Cytobank and selecting New:
(creating a new Project)
Project roles: Members, Leaders, and Managers
There are three ways to organize people within a Project: Members, Leaders, and Managers. Leaders and Members have no actual difference in their access permissions; they are only separated in case it is useful for organizational purposes. Both Leaders and Members cannot edit the Project or the Experiments within it (including any configurations such as gates, scales, compensations, sample tags, etc.) and are bound by the access levels set for the Project. Leaders and Members are added to the project by Managers. Any person listed as a Manager in a Project is considered an administrator of the Project and can change the Project. Managers are not bound by the access levels of the Project and get full access to all Experiments within the project, whereas Leaders and Members are bound by Project permissions. A single user can be a member in a project but also be given full access to an Experiment within the Project. In this case, the full access permission takes precedent. See the next section for important notes about how each type of person in a Project is given access to the Experiments therein.
Adding and removing people from a Project
People can be added and removed intuitively while editing a project. To add someone, type their name into the text entry field. You can add a user who is already on your private Cytobank Enterprise server or, for Premium users, their Cytobank connections, by typing their username or Email in the text box. You may also remove the access by clicking on the icon next to the username.
If a user doesn't appear in this list, please connect with the user first by clicking on Connect with a user tab. Please see this article for more details on how and what it means to be connected with a user.
To remove someone, click the removal icon to the right of their name.
(Adding users to a project in different roles and to Connect with a user before adding to a project)
Members and Leaders can be added and removed from a Project to grant and revoke access to all the Experiments within that Project dynamically. This is not the case for Managers. Once a Manager is added to a Project or otherwise exposed to the Experiments within a Project while a Manager, they become a full access user on all the Experiments within that Project and will have to be removed from each Experiment individually if access needs to be revoked. Simply removing a Manager from a Project does not remove their full access to the Experiments within the Project.
Understanding Project access levels
After electing to create a new Project there will be a page to enter basic information, including configuration options for access levels. These can also be changed at any time after creating the Project.
(the new Project form)
Access levels are set for the Project and apply to all experiments within the Project. Every Project has its access levels broken down into two categories: Sharing Level and Cloning Level. Each category has multiple options.
Sharing Level defines the degree of access to Illustrations. It offers the options of View Only and Illustrations. With View Only, members of the Project can only view previously saved Illustrations curated by users with full access to the Experiment(s). The Illustrations option gives members the ability to create their own Illustrations.
Cloning level defines the level of access for members to the Experiment configurations and the raw data. Experiment configurations include gates, compensations, scale settings, etc. The Cloning Level category offers three options: Disabled, Clone Files Only, and Full Clone. In Disabled mode, members cannot download raw data and cannot clone the experiment in any capacity. In Clone Files Only mode, members do not have access to the configurations of the Experiment but can download and clone the raw data. In Full Clone mode, members can clone the Experiment to gain access to all configurations of the Experiment, as well as the raw data.
Adding and removing Experiments from a Project
Individual Experiments can be added or removed from a Project by navigating to the Experiment Summary page of an Experiment and clicking to edit it.
Experiments can be added and removed from a Project in bulk by visiting the management page of the Project and using the tool at the bottom:
(bulk addition and removal of Experiments from a Project)
Deleting a Project does not delete the Experiments within the Project.